Becoming a morning runner

I run in the morning so I don’t have to do it in the afternoon.

I press the button on my alarm clock to shut it up. 6 AM. Birds singing, cars passing by. One foot touches the ground, the other foot touches the ground, I am up and it wasn’t that hard after all. I grab my stuff and silently sneak out of the dorm room, trying to not wake up my roommates.

It’s 6:15 when I get outside. The air is still cold, but refreshing. Streets are silent. The world has the beautiful, scary, tense, grey veil. Now for the other part – get to move.
I officially became one of those people who wake up one hour earlier to go for a morning run.
And you know what? It was awesome.

Now, there is something you need to know about me. I hate running. Actually, take the word „hate“ and multiply it by 100. And you are halfway through understanding my strong despise against this cardio activity. So why am I torturing myself? Curiosity, I guess. And desire to finally achieve something I can be proud of.

I decided to run through sort-of-a-park (actually, just trees and bushes with uneven road). It’s usually empty during the day, so I don’t expect any people to be here now either. It’s not even long road, but my physical condition is terrible. Baby steps, you know. But this time, I run further than ever. I felt so full of energy. I felt amazing.

On the way back, I stopped at a bridge over river. Right on time for dawn. Dawn is my favorite part of the day. Everything is new, cold, dark and bright at the same time. It’s magnificent and terrific. Maybe that’s why I like winter – you don’t have to get up so absurdly early to experience it. At that time, I already knew the run was worth every tear dr… uhm, I mean sweat drop.

So how beneficial is running in the early morning? First, it’s a good way to start your day. You will have good feeling about yourself. Second, you are full of energy, and it will boost your energy too. It might seem hard to get out of the bed before you have to, but once you set an alarm, wake up and walk outside, you will not want the effort to be wasted for nothing. You will truly push yourself. Third, it will not mess up your schedule during the day. Plus, if you hate running just like me, you can be almost sure nothing worse will happen to you that day. And last but not least… Did I mention the sunrise?

Do you run in the morning, too? Or you want to start? Let us know and support each other!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. theITjogger says:

    The amount of times I’ve set my alarm to do a morning run and just stayed in bed! I will try my best to get one done this week. Thanks for the motivation!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. rimonsiley says:

      If I could do it, you can do it too! 🙂 The hardest part is to start. Rest will follow, trust me. And don’t forget to let us know how it was 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

